YouTube privacy settings on iPhone: Relaxed level

Learn how to change your privacy settings on YouTube using iPhone. These steps adjust your privacy and security settings to Relaxed level protection.
Change settings
Privacy level
Choose
Platform
Choose
What are we setting up here?
Choose
ApplyCancel

Check your Google account settings

open all

Protect your Google account

open all

Your YouTube account is linked to your Google account, so the security of the former directly depends on the security of the latter.



How to protect yourself against hackers

open all
Set a strong password

What for: So you do not get hacked.

If you are using a short and simple password for your YouTube account, cybercriminals can guess it and access your profile. To avoid getting hacked, use a strong password that:

  • Is at least 8 characters long,
  • Contains lowercase and uppercase letters, numbers, and special characters ($, @, etc.),
  • Is not an actual word or easy-to-guess phrase,
  • Is not the same as your passwords for any other accounts,
  • Does not consist of information that strangers could easily find out (your name, date of birth, pet's name, and so forth — or those of your friends or relatives).

To change the password:

  1. Tap the account icon in the upper right corner of the screen to open the menu.
  2. Tap Manage your Google account;
  3. Scroll to the right until you get to the Personal info tab;
  4. Tap Password;
  5. Enter the current password for your Google account and tap Next;
  6. Enter a new strong password (twice) and tap Change password.


Rock-solid online protectionSafe and private browsing with Kaspersky Secure Connection

How to get rid of unwanted notifications

open all
Configure notifications

What for: To minimize distractions.

YouTube may show notifications about the actions of other users on your channel and about events related to your account and subscriptions. These notifications can be really annoying and distracting. To disable excessive notifications:

  1. Tap the account icon in the upper right corner of the screen to open the menu;
  2. Select Settings;
  3. Tap Notifications;
  4. Disable excessive notifications under Mobile notifications.

In this same section, you can also Disable sounds and vibrations. This lets you automatically turn off the sound of notifications during a specific time interval, such as nighttime. 


How to prevent your personal data from being exposed

open all
Delete all personal information from your channel description

What for: So that strangers do not know too much about you.

The description of your channel might contain information that could be used to easily find out your address, place of work or study, or other information about your life. Enemies or overenthusiastic fans could use this information to find out where you live and hang out, and then stalk you in real life. We advise editing the description of your channel and deleting any confidential information:

  1. Tap the account icon in the upper right corner of the screen to open the menu;
  2. Select Your channel;
  3. Tap the gear icon on the right of the channel name;
  4. Tap the pencil icon on the right of the channel description and delete any personal information;
  5. Tap OK.



How to defeat spammers and trolls

open all
Block unwanted users

What for: To shield yourself from unpleasant people.

If users write abusive comments or inappropriate personal messages, add them to your blacklist. Blocked users will not be able to view your profile, leave comments under your videos, or write messages in live chats.

To block a user:

  1. Open the user's page on YouTube;
  2. Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the screen;
  3. Select Block user;
  4. Tap Block.

You can also add the user to the blacklist in a live chat. To do so, tap the user's message and select Block.

Configure the unwanted comments filter

What for: To remove irrelevant comments.

You cannot configure automatic message filtering in the YouTube mobile app. To do so, follow the instructions for the web version.


What would have happened if you had chosen another privacy level?

Privacy level
?

Relaxed

Basic privacy settings, maximum convenience.


Medium

A golden mean respecting privacy matters but preserving convenience.


Tight

A choice of security over convenience; instructions contain a lot of details.

Relaxed
Medium
Tight
Platform
Windows
Mac
iPhone
Android
What are we setting up here?
VK
Instagram
WhatsApp
TikTok
Facebook
Google
Skype
LinkedIn
Twitter
Youtube
iOS
Apply