Twitter for iPhone users: Relaxed privacy set

How to keep your account from getting hacked

Set a strong password

What for: So you don’t get hacked.

If you use a short and simple password, cybercriminals can guess it and hijack your account. The more complex and longer the password, the stronger it is. Use a strong password that:

  • Consists of 8–20 characters.
  • Contains lowercase and uppercase letters, numbers, and special characters ($, @, etc.).
  • Is not an actual word or easy-to-guess phrase.
  • Is not the same as your password for any other account.
  • Does not consist of information that strangers could easily find out (your name, date of birth, pet's name, etc., or those of your relatives and friends).

To change your password:

  1. Open the menu by tapping the icon in the upper left corner of the screen.
  2. Go to the Settings and privacy section.
  3. Select Account.
  4. Tap Password.
  5. Enter the current password for your Twitter account.
  6. Enter a new strong password twice.
  7. Tap Done.

Enable two-factor authentication

What for: Better protection against getting hacked.

Twitter can prompt you to enter an additional one-time code every time you log in to your account. If cybercriminals attempt to hack your account, they will not be able to log in without the code. You can opt to receive the code by text message or use an authentication app.

To enable two-factor authentication:

  1. Open the menu by tapping the icon in the upper left corner of the screen.
  2. Go to the Settings and privacy section.
  3. Select Account.
  4. Tap Security.
  5. Select Two-Factor Authentication.
  6. Select the authentication method:
  7. Text message — receive a one-time code in a text message.
  8. Authentication app — a dedicated app such as Authy or Google Authenticator generates a one-time code.
  9. Security key — a USB authorization device such as YubiKey generates a one-time code.
  10. Follow the on-screen instructions.
  11. When two-factor authentication is enabled, you will see a dialog box with a one-time backup code. Copy it and store it in a safe place. You will need this code to access your account if you lose your phone. Note that you can log in using the backup code only in the Web version of Twitter.

You can get the code later by selecting Backup code in the Additional methods section.

A hardware security key can be used only with the Web version of Twitter and only in combination with two-factor authentication by SMS message or a mobile app.

Downside: If you use authentication by SMS, Twitter can use the specified phone number to configure targeted ads.

How to keep your personal info private

Stop Twitter from detecting your location

What for: To spare device resources and to hide from cybercriminals.

Twitter uses IP addresses to approximate the location of users. However, the app can also collect information about your precise location to help you geotag your posts and view targeted ads and recommendations. Note that if you geotag one tweet, subsequent posts will be geotagged automatically until you disable the feature.

Transmission of geodata consumes data and power, and information about your location can also help cybercriminals stage phishing attacks.

Precise location tracking is disabled by default, but we recommend checking this setting.

  1. Open the menu by tapping the icon in the upper left corner of the screen.
  2. Go to the Settings and privacy section.
  3. Select Privacy and safety.
  4. Go to Precise location.
  5. Clear the check mark next to Precise location.

The app for iOS does not allow you to remove geotags from previously published tweets. To do so, follow instructions for the Web version.

Downside: Other services can also geotag your tweets, and they do not always warn you explicitly.

How to defeat spammers and trolls

Exclude offensive posts from your news feed

What for: Peace of mind.

You can stop tweets containing specific words, hashtags, and smiley faces from appearing in your news feed and notifications.

To configure the filter:

  1. Open the notification feed (by tapping the bell icon).
  2. Tap the cogwheel icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Tap Muted.
  4. Select Muted words.
  5. Tap Add and type a word or phrase you do not want to see.
  6. In the Mute from section, chose where to apply the filter: your home timeline, notification feed, or both.
  7. Choose the type of users to whose tweets the filter will be applied: Anyone or From people you don’t follow.
  8. In the Duration section, select for how long the filter should be effective.
  9. Tap Save in the upper right corner of the screen.

Stop unwanted content from showing in your news feed and search results

What for: To exclude adult and graphic content from your notification feed.

The app for iOS does not let you exclude unwanted content from search results. To do so, follow instructions for the Web version of Twitter.

How to hide posts from unwanted people

Block unwanted users

What for: To keep unwanted people out of your virtual space.

To stop a specific user from viewing your tweets and replying to them or sending you direct messages, block the user. Blocked users will not be able to view your profile or contact you.

To block a user:

  1. Go to the profile of the follower you want to block.
  2. Tap the three dots icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Select Block @username.
  4. Tap Block in the window that opens.

The user will not be notified about getting blocked. However, if they visit your profile, they will see a message saying you blacklisted them. The blocked user can file a complaint against you and view all tweets in which you mentioned them.

You can unblock a blocked user any time:

  1. Open the menu by tapping the icon in the upper left corner of the screen.
  2. Go to the Settings and privacy section.
  3. Select Privacy and safety.
  4. Go to the Blocked accounts section.
  5. Tap the Blocked button next to the account name to unblock it.

Keep in mind that if one of your followers shares a link to a photo attached to your private tweet, the image will be visible to all recipients.

How to get rid of unwanted notifications

Turn off unnecessary notifications

What for: To minimize distractions.

By default, Twitter sends you notifications about other users’ activities. You can stop the app from notifying you about the activities of specific categories of users — for example, users who have not confirmed their contact details (spammers often avoid doing this to save time).

To do so:

  1. Open the menu by tapping the icon in the upper left corner of the screen.
  2. Go to the Settings and privacy section.
  3. Select Notifications.
  4. Turn on the Quality filter toggle switch.
  5. Tap Advanced filters and select check marks next to:
  • You don’t follow
  • Who don’t follow you
  • With a new account
  • Who have a default profile photo
  • Who haven’t confirmed their email
  • Who haven’t confirmed their phone number

Downside: The filter does not apply to accounts that you follow or with which you recently interacted.