TikTok privacy settings on iPhone: Relaxed level

Learn how to change your privacy settings on TikTok using iPhone. These steps adjust your privacy and security settings to Relaxed level protection.
Change settigns
Privacy level
Choose
Platform
Choose
What are we setting up here?
Choose
ApplyCancel

How to keep your account from getting hacked

open all
Set a strong password

What for: So you do not get hacked.

You can log in to TikTok using your accounts with other services such as Facebook or Google. If you do that, you will not have to provide an e-mail address or phone number or create a new password. However, if attackers hack the account that you use to log in to TikTok, they will gain access to your TikTok profile. In addition, TikTok can view third-party account details such as your friend list and contact information. To prevent that from happening, you can create a separate account for TikTok.

You need a secure password to keep cybercriminals out of your account. Use a strong password that:

  • Consists of 8–20 characters.
  • Contains lowercase and uppercase letters as well as numbers.
  • Is not an actual word or easy-to-guess phrase.
  • Is not the same as your password for any of your other social network accounts.
  • Does not contain information that strangers could easily find or guess (your name or the name of a loved one, pet's name, date of birth, and so on).

To create or change your password:

  1. Go to the Me tab.
  2. Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Select Manage my account.
  4. Tap Password.
  5. If you have not created a password yet, TikTok will ask you to enter your phone number or e-mail address. You will need them to log in to your account and to reset your password. Then select Password again and create one.
  6. If you need to change your password, enter the code that TikTok sends to your phone number or e-mail. Then enter a new password and tap Next.
  7. Tap the check mark to confirm.

Keep in mind that your TikTok password can be bypassed. If a phone number is linked to your account, you can log in to your profile using a code you receive by text message. Attackers can abuse that ability if they gain access to your phone or infect it with malware that intercepts SMS messages. Therefore, we recommend that you securely protect your device. For the same reason, you should make sure to unlink your phone number from your TikTok account if you change it.

Keep in mind that TikTok does not support two-factor authentication (the use of your username–password combination and a one-time code to log in).


How to defeat spammers and trolls

open all
Enable the comment filter

What for: So that you do not see any spam or offensive remarks in comments.

By default, TikTok automatically deletes comments containing spam and insulting remarks. You can add your own words to the standard list as well as check if the filter is enabled. To do that:

  1. Go to the Me tab.
  2. Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Select Privacy and safety.
  4. Tap Comment filters.
  5. Toggle on the Filter spam and offensive comments option.
  6. To create your own list of stop words or phrases, enable the Filter keywords option.
  7. Tap Add keywords and enter the words and phrases that you do not want to see in your comments.


Block unwanted users

What for: So you can avoid running into unwanted people.

If a TikTok user is leaving offensive comments, sending you spam, or is otherwise annoying you, you can block this person. After that they will not be able to watch your videos or send you messages. If you change your mind, you can always unblock the user.

To block anyone on TikTok:

  1. Open the user's profile.
  2. Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Select Block.
  4. Tap Confirm.

The user will not be notified about getting blocked.

To unblock a user:

  1. Go to the Me tab.
  2. Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Select Privacy and safety.
  4. Tap Blocked accounts.
  5. Select the user and tap Unblock.


How to keep your data from being stolen

open all
Download your data from TikTok

What for: To find out what kind of information the app collects about you.

TikTok collects and stores a lot of information about you. The app contains data that you have specified in your profile as well as information about your activity (for example, likes and purchase history) and all of your settings. If your account is stolen or blocked, that data will be lost. To prevent that from happening, you can request an archive of your data from TikTok and download it to your phone or computer. How to do that:

  1. Go to the Me tab.
  2. Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Select Privacy and safety.
  4. Tap Personalization and data.
  5. Select Download TikTok data.
  6. Tap Request data.
  7. A link to download the archive will appear in this section in the Download data tab.


Keep in mind that the file with the data will not appear right away, and it will only be available for four days after being created.


How to improve your TikTok experience

open all
Restrict the amount of time that you spend in the app

What for: To control the amount of time you spend in TikTok.

If you are worried that you or your child waste too much time in TikTok, you can limit the amount of time that can be spent in the app. When you reach the time limit, TikTok will ask you to enter a security code to continue using the app. To set a time limit:

  1. Go to the Me tab.
  2. Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Select Digital Wellbeing.
  4. Open Screen Time Management.
  5. Tap Time limit and select how much time per day one can freely use the app: 40, 60, 90, or 120 minutes.
  6. Go back to the previous screen using the arrow and tap Turn on Screen Time Management.
  7. Enter the security code and tap Continue.
  8. Confirm the code and tap Continue again.

Disable unwanted notifications

What for: Less distraction.

By default, TikTok will send you notifications if anyone liked your video or commented on it, as well as of recommendations, live broadcasts, and your friends' new posts. Constant notifications can be really annoying and distracting. In addition, certain notifications are even displayed on the phone lock screen, which means that they might be seen by strangers.

To disable notifications in the app:

  1. Go to the Me tab.
  2. Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Select Push notifications.
  4. Disable notifications that you do not want.

To disable TikTok notifications in the system:

  1. Open the Settings menu on your device.
  2. Go to the Notifications section.
  3. Find TikTok in the list of apps.
  4. Disable the Allow notifications option.

Privacy level
?

Relaxed

Basic privacy settings, maximum convenience.


Medium

A golden mean respecting privacy matters but preserving convenience.


Tight

A choice of security over convenience; instructions contain a lot of details.

Relaxed
Medium
Tight
Platform
Windows
Mac
iPhone
Android
What are we setting up here?
Instagram
Facebook
TikTok
WhatsApp
Google
VK
Twitter
LinkedIn
Skype
Youtube
iOS
Apply