YouTube privacy settings on Android: Relaxed level

Learn how to change your privacy settings on YouTube using Android. These steps adjust your privacy and security settings to Relaxed level protection.
Kaspersky Lab
29.06.2021
5 minutes
Change settings
Privacy level
Choose
Platform
Choose
What are we setting up here?
Choose
ApplyCancel

Check your Google account settings

open all


Protect your Google account

Your YouTube account is linked to a Google account, and data security directly depends on the security of this account. Therefore, you are advised to check the settings of your Google account in addition to your YouTube settings.


How to protect yourself against hackers

open all


Set a strong password

What for: So you don’t get hacked.

If you are using a short and simple password for your YouTube account, cybercriminals can guess it and access your profile. To avoid getting hacked, use a strong password that:

  • Is at least 8 characters long;
  • Contains lowercase and uppercase letters, numbers, and special characters ($, @, etc.);
  • Is not an actual word or easy-to-guess phrase;
  • Is not the same as your passwords for any other accounts;
  • Does not consist of information that strangers could easily find out (your name, date of birth, pet's name, and so forth — or those of your friends or relatives).

To change the password:

  1. Tap the account icon in the upper right corner of the screen to open the menu;
  2. Tap Manage your Google account;
  3. Scroll to the right until you get to the Personal info tab;
  4. Tap Password;
  5. Enter the current password for your Google account and tap Next;
  6. Enter a new strong password twice and tap Change password.

Turn off the quick purchases option

What for: To prevent criminals from using your accounts.

When making purchases, YouTube asks for your password by default. However, the quick purchases option lets you make payments without confirmation. If you want to prevent accidental expenditures and protect your money, you are advised to not opt out of transaction confirmation. To check your settings:

  1. Tap the account icon in the upper right corner of the screen to open the menu;
  2. Select Settings;
  3. Tap Billing & payments;
  4. Toggle the Enable quick purchases switch to the off position.

If your phone is equipped with a fingerprint scanner, you can use it instead of a password to confirm payments on YouTube:

  1. Tap the account icon in the upper right corner of the screen to open the menu;
  2. Select Settings;
  3. Tap Billing & payments;
  4. Tap On this device, my preferred verification is;
  5. Select Fingerprint;
  6. Enter your Google account password.


How to get rid of unwanted notifications

open all


Configure notifications

What for: To minimize distractions.

YouTube may show notifications about the actions of other users on your channel and about events related to your account and subscriptions. These notifications can be really annoying and distracting. To disable excessive notifications:

  1. Tap the account icon in the upper right corner of the screen to open the menu;
  2. Select Settings;
  3. Tap Notifications;
  4. Disable excessive notifications under Push notifications.

In this same section, you can also Disable sounds and vibrations. This lets you automatically turn off the sound of notifications during a specific time interval, such as nighttime. 

Rock-solid online protectionSafe and private browsing with Kaspersky Secure Connection

How to prevent your personal data from being exposed

open all


Delete all personal information from your channel description

What for: So that strangers do not know too much about you.

The description of your channel might contain information that could be used to easily find out your address, place of work or study, and other information about you. If you have any haters or overly enthusiastic fans, they could use this information to ruin your life. For this reason, you are advised to delete confidential information from the description:

  1. Tap the account icon in the upper right corner of the screen to open the menu;
  2. Select Your channel;
  3. Tap Edit channel;
  4. Tap the pencil icon on the right of the channel description and delete any personal information;
  5. Tap OK.


How to defeat spammers and trolls

open all


Block unwanted users

What for: To shield yourself from unpleasant people.

If users write abusive comments or inappropriate personal messages, add them to the black list. Blocked users will not be able to view your profile, leave comments under your videos, or write messages in live chats.

To block a user:

  1. Open the user's page on YouTube;
  2. Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the screen;
  3. Select Block user;
  4. Tap Block.

You can also add the user to the black list in a live chat. To do so, tap the user's message and select Block.

Configure the unwanted comments filter

What for: To remove irrelevant comments.

You cannot configure automatic message filtering in the YouTube mobile app. To do so, follow instructions for the web version.


What would have happened if you had chosen another privacy level?


Also recommended

Main / YouTube privacy settings on Android: Relaxed level
Privacy level
?

Relaxed

Basic privacy settings, maximum convenience.


Medium

A golden mean respecting privacy matters but preserving convenience.


Tight

A choice of security over convenience; instructions contain a lot of details.

Relaxed
Medium
Tight
Platform
Windows
Mac
iPhone
Android
What are we setting up here?
Instagram
Facebook
WhatsApp
TikTok
Twitter
Youtube
Google
Skype
Operation system settings
LinkedIn
VK
Chrome
Firefox
Edge
Apply