Twitter for Android users: Relaxed privacy set

How to keep your account from getting hacked

Set a strong password

What for: So you don’t get hacked.

If you use a short and simple password, cybercriminals can guess it and hijack your account. The more complex and longer the password, the stronger it is. Use a strong password that:

  • Consists of 8–20 characters.
  • Contains lowercase and uppercase letters, numbers, and special characters ($, @, etc.).
  • Is not an actual word or easy-to-guess phrase.
  • Is not the same as your passwords for any other accounts.
  • Does not consist of information that strangers could easily find out (your name, date of birth, pet's name, etc. — or those of your relatives and friends).

To change your password:

  1. Open the menu by tapping the icon in the upper left corner of the screen.
  2. Go to the Settings and privacy section.
  3. Select Account.
  4. Tap Password.
  5. Enter the current password for your Twitter account.
  6. Enter a new strong password twice.
  7. Tap Update password.

Enable two-factor authentication

What for: Better protection against getting hacked.

Twitter can prompt you to enter an additional one-time code every time you log in to your account. That way, if cybercriminals attempt to hack your account, they will not be able to log in without this code. You can receive the code from a text message (SMS) or an authentication app.

To enable two-factor authentication:

  1. Open the menu by tapping the icon in the upper left corner of the screen.
  2. Go to the Settings and privacy section.
  3. Select Account.
  4. Tap Security.
  5. Select Two-Factor Authentication.
  6. Select the authentication method:
  7. Text message — receive a one-time-use code by SMS.
  8. Authentication app —a dedicated app such as Authy or Google Authenticator generates the code.
  9. Security key — a USB authorization device such as YubiKey generates the code.
  10. Follow the on-screen instructions.
  11. When two-factor authentication is enabled, you will see a dialog box with a one-time backup code. Copy it and store it in a safe place. You need this code to access your account if you lose your phone. Note that you can log in using the backup code only in the Web version of Twitter.

You can get the code later by selecting Backup code in the Additional methods section.

A hardware security key can be used only with the Web version of Twitter and only in combination with two-factor authentication using SMS or a mobile app.

Downside: If you use SMS authentication, Twitter can use the specified phone number to configure targeted ads.

How to keep corporations out of your business

Stop Twitter from detecting your location

What for: To use device resources sparingly and evade cybercriminals.

Twitter detects the approximate location of users based on their IP address. However, the app can also collect information about your precise location so you can geotag your posts and view targeted ads and recommendations. Note that if you geotag a tweet even once, your subsequent posts will be geotagged automatically until you disable the feature.

Transmission of geodata increases traffic usage and drains your battery. Information about your location can also help cybercriminals stage phishing attacks.

Precise location tracking is disabled by default, but we recommend checking this setting.

  1. Open the menu by tapping the icon in the upper left corner of the screen.
  2. Go to the Settings and privacy section.
  3. Select Privacy and safety.
  4. Go to Precise location.
  5. Clear the check mark next to Precise location.

It is impossible to remove geotags from previously published tweets in the Android app. To do so, follow instructions for the Web version.

Downside: Third-party services can also geotag your tweets and do not always warn you explicitly.

How to defeat spammers and trolls

Restrict contacts from sending you direct messages

What for: To limit unwanted communication.

By default, only users you follow can send you direct messages. However, we recommend checking this setting:

  1. Open your profile by tapping the menu icon in the upper left corner of the screen.
  2. Select Settings and privacy.
  3. Tap Privacy and safety.
  4. Go to Direct Messages.
  5. Make sure that the Receive message requests toggle switch is turned off.

This will not affect users with whom you have already started chats. To stop them from sending you direct messages, blacklist them.

Companies and developers may send you direct messages requesting your location or access to media files. They use this information to configure recommendations. Note that this information can be shared with third parties, so treat such requests with care.

Exclude offensive posts from your news feed

What for: Peace of mind.

You can stop seeing tweets containing specific words, hashtags, and emoji in your news feed and notifications.

To configure the filter:

  1. Open the notification feed (by tapping the bell icon).
  2. Tap the cogwheel icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Go to the Muted words section.
  4. Select Muted words.
  5. Tap the + sign and add the word you want to hide.
  6. In the Mute from section, chose where to apply the filter: your home timeline or notification feed.
  7. In the Duration section, select for how long the filter should be effective:
  8. Tap Save.

By default, it is applied forever to both the home timeline and the notification feed. Also keep in mind that the filter is not case-sensitive.

Stop unwanted content from showing in your news feed and search results

What for: To exclude adult and graphic content from the notification feed.

Twitter can filter out sensitive content. This feature is disabled by default. However, we recommend checking the settings.

  1. Open the menu by tapping the icon in the upper left corner of the screen.
  2. Go to the Settings and privacy section.
  3. Select Privacy and safety.
  4. If Display media that may contain sensitive content is checked, clear the check mark.

Keep in mind that you will still see such content in search results. To stop Twitter from showing it in search results:

  1. Open the menu by tapping the icon in the upper left corner of the screen.
  2. Go to the Settings and privacy section.
  3. Select Content preferences.
  4. Open Search settings.
  5. Set the Hide sensitive content check mark.

How to hide posts from certain people

Block unwanted users

What for: To get rid of unwanted people in your virtual space.

To stop a specific user from viewing your tweets and replying to them or sending you direct messages, block the user. The blocked user will not be able to view your profile or contact you.

To block a user:

  1. Go to the profile of the follower you want to block.
  2. Tap the three dots icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Select Block.
  4. Tap Block in the window that opens.

The user will not be notified about getting blocked. However, if they visit your profile, they will see a message about being blacklisted. In that case, the blocked user can file a complaint against you and view all tweets in which you mentioned them.

You can unblock a blocked user any time (for example, if you blocked the user by mistake):

  1. Open the menu by tapping the icon in the upper left corner of the screen.
  2. Go to the Settings and privacy section.
  3. Select Privacy and safety.
  4. Go to the Blocked accounts section.
  5. Tap the Blocked button next to the account name to unblock it.

Keep in mind that if one of your followers shares the link to the photo attached to your private tweet, the image will be visible to all recipients of this link.

How to get rid of unwanted notifications

Turn off unnecessary notifications

What for: To avoid distractions.

By default, Twitter sends you notifications about the most interesting activities of other users (in the opinion of the service). If these notifications seem unnecessary, you can stop the app from notifying you about activities of specific user categories, e.g. those who have not confirmed their contact details (spammers often avoid doing this to save time).

To do so:

  1. Open the menu by tapping the icon in the upper left corner of the screen.
  2. Go to the Settings and privacy section.
  3. Select Notifications.
  4. Set the check mark next to Quality filter.
  5. Tap Advanced filters and select check marks next to:
  6. You don’t follow
  7. Who don’t follow you
  8. With a new account
  9. Who have a default profile photo
  10. Who haven’t confirmed their email
  11. Who haven’t confirmed their phone number

Downside: The filter does not apply to accounts that you follow or with which you recently interacted.