TikTok for Android users: Relaxed privacy set

How to keep your account from getting hacked

Set a strong password

What for: So you do not get hacked.

You can log in to TikTok using your accounts with other services such as Facebook or Google. If you do that, you will not have to provide an e-mail address or phone number or create a new password. However, if attackers hack the account that you use to log in to TikTok, they will gain access to your TikTok profile. In addition, TikTok can view third-party account details such as your friend list and contact information. To prevent that, you can create a separate account for TikTok.

You need a secure password to keep cybercriminals out of your account. Use a strong password that:

  • Consists of 8–20 characters.
  • Contains lowercase and uppercase letters as well as numbers.
  • Is not an actual word or easy-to-guess phrase.
  • Is not the same as your password for any of your other social network accounts.
  • Does not contain information that strangers could easily find or guess (your name or the name of a loved one, pet's name, date of birth, and so on).

To create or change your password:

  1. Go to the Me tab.
  2. Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Select Manage my account.
  4. Tap Password.
  5. If you have not set a password yet, TikTok will ask you to enter your phone number or e-mail address. You will need them to log in to your account and to change your password. Then select Password again and create one.
  6. If you need to change your password, enter the code that TikTok sends to your phone number or e-mail. Then enter a new password and tap Next.
  7. Tap the confirmation icon.


Keep in mind that your TikTok password can be bypassed. If a phone number is linked to your account, you can log in to your profile using a code you receive by text message. Attackers can abuse that ability if they gain access to your phone or infect it with malware that intercepts SMS messages. Therefore, we recommend that you securely protect your device. For the same reason, you should make sure to unlink your phone number from your TikTok account if you change it.

Keep in mind that TikTok does not support two-factor authentication (the use of your username–password combination and a one-time code to log in).

Check the list of devices used to log in to your account

What for: So that no one else can log in to your account from another phone.

If you have logged in to TikTok from another person's phone or you suspect someone has learned your password, check the list of devices and remove any that you do not recognize. To do that:

  1. Go to the Me tab.
  2. Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Select Manage my account.
  4. Go to the Security section.
  5. Tap Your devices.
  6. Remove any devices that you do not recognize from the list. To do that, click the trash can icon next to the suspicious device name that you want to delete.

If someone else's devices appear on the list, change your account password as soon as possible.

How to defeat spammers and trolls

Enable the comment filter

What for: So that you do not see any spam or offensive remarks in comments.

By default, TikTok automatically deletes comments containing spam and insulting remarks. You can add your own words to the standard list as well as check if the filter is enabled. To do that:

  1. Go to the Me tab.
  2. Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Select Privacy and safety.
  4. Tap Comment filters.
  5. Enable the Filter spam and offensive comments option.
  6. To create your own list of stop words or phrases, enable the Filter keywords option and tap Add keywords.

Block unwanted users

What for: So you can avoid running into unwanted people.

If a TikTok user is leaving offensive comments, sending you spam, or is otherwise annoying you, you can block this person. After that they will not be able to watch your videos or send you messages. If you change your mind, you can always unblock the user.

To block anyone on TikTok:

  1. Open the profile of the user you want to block.
  2. Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Select Block.
  4. Tap Confirm.

The user will not be notified about getting blocked.

To unblock a user:

  1. Go to the Me tab.
  2. Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Select Privacy and safety.
  4. Tap Blocked accounts.
  5. Select the user to unblock and tap the Unblock button.

How to keep your videos from being stolen

Restrict others from downloading your videos

What for: To ensure no one steals your content.

If you allow others to download your videos, anyone can save them and post them from their account. This feature is disabled by default, but we still recommend checking the settings. To do that:

  1. Go to the Me tab.
  2. Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Select Privacy and safety.
  4. Tap Allow your videos to be downloaded and make sure you check the box next to Off.

Download your data from TikTok

What for: To find out what kind of information the app collects about you.

TikTok collects and stores a lot of information about you. The app contains data that you have specified in your profile as well as information about your activity (for example, likes and purchase history) and all of your settings. If your account is stolen or blocked, this data will be lost. To prevent this from happening, you can request an archive of your data from TikTok and download it to your phone or computer. How to do that:

  1. Go to the Me tab.
  2. Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Select Privacy and safety.
  4. Tap Personalization and data.
  5. Tap Download TikTok data.
  6. Tap Request data.
  7. A link to download the archive will appear within four days in this section in the Download data tab.


Keep in mind that the file with the data will not appear right away, and it will only be available for four days after being created.

How to improve your TikTok experience

Restrict the amount of time that you spend in the app

What for: To control the amount of time that you spend in TikTok.

If you are worried that you or your child waste too much time in TikTok, you can limit the amount of time that can be spent in the app. When you reach the time limit, TikTok will ask you to enter a security code to continue using the app. To set a time limit:

  1. Go to the Me tab.
  2. Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Select Digital Wellbeing.
  4. Open Screen Time Management.
  5. Tap Time limit and select how much time per day one can freely use the app: 40, 60, 90, or 120 minutes.
  6. Tap the Turn on Screen Time Management button.
  7. Enter the security code and tap Next.
  8. Confirm the code and tap Next again.