Google privacy settings on Android: Relaxed level

Learn how to change your privacy settings on Google using Android. These steps adjust your privacy and security settings to Relaxed level protection.
Change settings
Privacy level
Choose
Platform
Choose
What are we setting up here?
Choose
ApplyCancel

How to protect your account from getting hacked

open all
Set a strong password

What for: So that attackers cannot crack it.

A Google account lets you synchronize music, photos, contacts, and other data across devices. However, if it is hacked, criminals can gain access to all of that data. Another danger is that if someone has access to your Google account, they can remotely lock out any connected devices and erase all data from them.

Make sure that your account is protected by a strong password that complies with the following requirements:

  • Is at least 8 characters long,
  • Contains lowercase and uppercase letters, numbers, and special characters ($, @, etc.),
  • Is not an actual word or easy-to-guess phrase,
  • Is not the same as your passwords for any other accounts,
  • Does not consist of information that strangers could easily find out (your name, date of birth, pet's name, and so forth — or those of your friends or relatives).

To change the password:

  1. Open Settings on the device;
  2. Go to the Google section;
  3. Tap Manage your Google Account;
  4. Scroll to the right until you get to the Personal info tab;
  5. Select Password;
  6. In the identity confirmation window, tap Next;
  7. Confirm your identity by unlocking the screen;
  8. Enter a new, strong password (twice) and tap Change password.

Configure two-step verification

What for: Stronger protection against hacking.

You can increase the security of your Google account by enabling two-step verification. That way, every time you try to log in from a new device, the system will ask for a one-time code. A notification will be sent to all gadgets already logged in to the account. Thus, even if someone tries to hack your account, you will still be able to prevent them from logging in.

You can verify a login:

  • Using a trusted device. When you try to log in to an account from an unknown device, a message will appear on the phone with your Google account asking you to verify the login. You’ll find a list of devices that have attempted to log in but are awaiting verification on the Settings page;
  • Using a one-time code you receive by text or a phone call;
  • Using your phone's built-in security key. Keep in mind that built-in security keys are supported only by devices with Android 7.0 or later. For them to work, the phone must be located next to your PC, and Bluetooth must be enabled on both devices.

To enable two-step verification using a trusted device:

  1. Open Settings on the device;
  2. Go to the Google section;
  3. Tap Manage your Google Account;
  4. Scroll to the right until you get to the Security tab;
  5. Tap 2-Step Verification;
  6. Tap Get started;
  7. Enter your Google account password and tap Next;
  8. Tap Try it now;
  9. A request to log in to the account will appear on the screen of the trusted device. Tap Yes;
  10. Google will suggest that you select a backup authentication method in case your trusted device is unavailable. To choose to receive the code by text or a phone call:
  11. Enter the phone number that you want to use to receive the codes;
  12. Choose how you want to receive the code (Text Message or Phone Call) and tap Send;
  13. Enter the code you receive and tap SEND.
  14. To select backup codes as an additional verification method:
  15. Tap USE ANOTHER BACKUP OPTION;
  16. The backup codes will appear on the screen. Take a screenshot, save them to a PDF file, or print them out;
  17. Tap Next.
  18. Tap TURN ON.

If you do not want to use a trusted device, choose another method of receiving the code — by text or a phone call:

  1. In the Manage your Google Account menu, scroll right to the Security tab;
  2. Tap 2-Step Verification;
  3. Tap Get started;
  4. Enter your Google account password and tap Next;
  5. Tap Show more options;
  6. Enter the phone number that you want to use to receive SMS messages or phone calls with codes;
  7. Choose how you want to receive the code (Text Message or Phone Call) and tap SEND;
  8. Enter the code and tap Next;
  9. Tap Enable.

You can enable two-step verification using a security key in the same section:

  1. Tap 2-Step Verification;
  2. Tap Show more options;
  3. Enter your Google account password and tap Next;
  4. Tap More options;
  5. Go to the Security Key section with the name of your device and tap Done.

After you have enabled two-step verification, you can add several more login methods:

  • Using backup codes that can log you in even in if your phone is not available,
  • With the Google Authenticator app.

Use a trusted device, an incoming phone call, a special app, a security key, or backup codes for secure additional verification; an attacker can use malware or a communication protocol vulnerability to intercept a text message with a one-time code.

Rock-solid online protectionSafe and private browsing with Kaspersky Secure Connection

How to prevent your personal data from being exposed

open all
Limit the visibility of your profile

What for: To keep strangers from learning too much about you.

Certain data — including your date of birth, gender, and phone number — from your account is visible to other users by default. To prevent strangers from viewing this information, deny access to it:

  1. Open Settings on the device,
  2. Go to the Google section,
  3. Tap Manage your Google Account,
  4. Scroll to the right until you get to the Personal info tab,
  5. Scroll down the page and tap Go to About me,
  6. Select the fields containing information you want to deny access to, and specify that only you can see it.

You cannot limit access to certain data, such as photos and names, for example.

Hide your location from others

What for: To keep strangers from learning where you are.

Certain Google services can show your location to other users. By default, the feature is disabled. However, you can activate it by, for example, sending your current location to one of your contacts. We recommend reviewing who is allowed to access your location data and denying strangers access to it.

  1. Open Settings on the device;
  2. Go to the Google section;
  3. Tap Manage your Google Account;
  4. Scroll to the right until you get to the People & sharing tab;
  5. Tap Manage location sharing in the Location sharing section;
  6. In the What others can see section, tap the “X” to the left of the name of the user you want to prevent from accessing your location data.


What would have happened if you had chosen another privacy level?

Privacy level
?

Relaxed

Basic privacy settings, maximum convenience.


Medium

A golden mean respecting privacy matters but preserving convenience.


Tight

A choice of security over convenience; instructions contain a lot of details.

Relaxed
Medium
Tight
Platform
Windows
Mac
iPhone
Android
What are we setting up here?
VK
Instagram
WhatsApp
TikTok
Facebook
Google
Skype
LinkedIn
Twitter
Youtube
Android
Apply