VK privacy settings on Android: Relaxed level

Learn how to change your privacy settings on VK using Android. These steps adjust your privacy and security settings to Relaxed level protection.
Kaspersky Lab
19.08.2021
5 minutes
Change settings
Privacy level
Choose
Platform
Choose
What are we setting up here?
Choose
ApplyCancel

How to keep your account from getting hacked

open all


Set a strong password

What for: So you don’t get hacked.

If you use a short and simple password for your VK account, cybercriminals can hijack your account. Use a strong password that meets the following criteria:

  • Is at least 8 characters long;
  • Contains lowercase and uppercase letters, numbers, and special characters ($, @, etc.);
  • Is not an actual word or easy-to-guess phrase;
  • Is not the same as your passwords for any other accounts;
  • Does not consist of information that strangers could easily find out (your name, date of birth, pet's name, and so forth — or those of your friends or relatives).

To change the password:

  1. Tap three horizontal lines in the upper left corner of the screen;
  2. Select Settings;
  3. Go to the Manage VK Connect section;
  4. Select Security and login;
  5. Tap Password;
  6. Enter the current password for your account and tap Send;
  7. Enter the new password twice and tap Save.

Enable two-factor authentication

What for: So you definitely don’t get hacked.

VK can prompt you to enter a one-time code every time you log in to your account. That way, even if cybercriminals get hold of your username and password, they will not be able to log in to your account without this code. Codes can be received by text message at the phone number you specify or generated in an authentication app (such as Google Authenticator). To enable two-factor authentication:

  1. Tap three horizontal lines in the upper left corner of the screen;
  2. Select Settings;
  3. Go to the Manage VK Connect section;
  4. Select Security and login;
  5. Select Set up in the Protect profile section;
  6. Enter your current password and tap Send;
  7. Tap Call me and make a mental note of the last four digits of the number of the incoming call;
  8. Enter them in the relevant field;
  9. Remember to save the backup codes that can be used for account login if your mobile device becomes unavailable. Store these codes in a safe place.

By default, two-factor authentication by text message (SMS) is enabled. A text message with the code can be intercepted by malware, which is why using a two-factor authentication app is a safer option. To do so, under 2-step verification locate the Code-generating app item, tap Enable, and follow the instructions.


How to keep corporations out of your business

open all


Disable access to location data

What for: So Facebook does not know where you go.

VK gathers your location data to geotag your posts and stories and configure recommendations and targeted ads. Transmission of such data compromises your privacy, increases traffic usage and drains the battery.

If you do not want to share your location, you can stop the social network from accessing location data.

To stop VK from using location data to configure the news feed and ads:

  1. Tap three horizontal lines in the upper left corner of the screen;
  2. Select Settings;
  3. Go to the App settings section;
  4. Disable the Location data option.

To completely disable access to location data:

  1. Open Settings on your device;
  2. Go to the Apps section; 
  3. Tap See all apps and select VK in the list;
  4. Select Permissions;
  5. Tap Location;
  6. Select Deny.


How to defeat spammers and trolls

open all


Block unwanted users

What for: To get rid of unpleasant people in the virtual space.

To stop a specific user from viewing your wall, replying to your comments, or sending you private messages, you can blacklist the user:

  1. Go to the profile of the user you wish to block;
  2. Tap the three dots button in the upper right corner of the screen;
  3. Select Block;
  4. Tap Yes.

The user will not be notified that you have blocked him. However, if the user tries to message or call you, he will see a message that you have blacklisted him.

To remove a user from the black list:

  1. Tap three horizontal lines in the upper left corner of the screen;
  2. Select Settings;
  3. Go to the Blocked section;
  4. Tap the cross to the right of the user name.

Rock-solid online protectionSafe and private browsing with Kaspersky Secure Connection

How to prevent your personal data from being exposed

open all


Configure the visibility of your data

What for: To decide for yourself who can see what.

If you do not want to make your profile private, you can still configure the visibility of your publications, comments, audio files, photos, and other data.

To choose who can view specific information in your profile:

  1. Tap three horizontal lines in the upper left corner of the screen;
  2. Select Settings;
  3. Go to the Privacy section. You will see a list of possible access settings:
  4. Who can view the main information on my profile;
  5. Who can view photos of me;
  6. Who can view the Saved photos album;
  7. Who can view my list of groups;
  8. Who can view my music;
  9. Who can view my gifts;
  10. Who can view my photos’ location tags;
  11. Who can view my hidden friends;
  12. Who can view other users’ posts and comments on my wall;
  13. Who can view comments on my posts;
  14. Who can view my stories;
  15. Who can reply to my stories with stories;
  16. Who can give feedback on my stories;
  17. Tap the items in the list one at a time and choose a group of users for each item. All or some of the following options are available for various items:
  18. All users;
  19. Friends of friends;
  20. All friends;
  21. Certain friends;
  22. Only me;
  23. Some items contain the Forbidden section. In this section, you can select Add friends or Add lists and check friends or groups of friends who will not have access to content. For example, you can grant access to other people’s posts on your wall to all friends except those on the “Colleagues” list.

The number of available visibility options depends on whether your profile is public or private.


How to get rid of unwanted notifications

open all


Turn off unnecessary notifications

What for: To decide for yourself what you want to be distracted by.

By default, VK displays push notifications about different profile activities — from private messages to likes and game invitations. The list of notifications can be limited. You can also choose the type of notifications by deciding whether you want sounds, vibration, or a flashing indicator:

  1. Tap three horizontal lines in the upper left corner of the screen;
  2. Select Settings;
  3. Go to the Notifications section;
  4. Select the type of event;
  5. Select None in the Show notifications section if you do not want to see notifications about this activity.


What would have happened if you had chosen another privacy level?


Also recommended

Main / VK privacy settings on Android: Relaxed level
Privacy level
?

Relaxed

Basic privacy settings, maximum convenience.


Medium

A golden mean respecting privacy matters but preserving convenience.


Tight

A choice of security over convenience; instructions contain a lot of details.

Relaxed
Medium
Tight
Platform
Windows
Mac
iPhone
Android
What are we setting up here?
Instagram
Facebook
WhatsApp
TikTok
Twitter
Youtube
Google
Skype
Operation system settings
LinkedIn
VK
Chrome
Firefox
Edge
Apply