WhatsApp for Mac users: Relaxed privacy set

How to defeat spammers and trolls

Restrict contacts from sending you messages

What for: To keep out spam.

Any WhatsApp user who knows your phone number can send you a message. You can block unwanted users including fraudsters or spammers — or anyone else.

Blocked users will not know you’ve blacklisted them. They simply will not be able to call you or view your status updates, and any messages they send to you will be marked as undelivered. You will not see those messages at all.

To block a user:

  1. Open the chat with the contact you want to block.
  2. Click the three dots icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Select Contact info.
  4. In the window that opens, click Block in the list at the bottom and confirm your selection.


Settings available in mobile apps only

Protect WhatsApp from hacking

Login settings cannot be configured in the Web version.

To remove your account before changing the number, follow the instructions for configuring the iOS or Android app.

Protect personal data

The Web version of WhatsApp does not let users edit personal data settings.

To limit your profile’s visibility, follow the instructions for configuring the iOS or Android app.