LinkedIn privacy settings on Android: Relaxed level

Learn how to change your privacy settings on LinkedIn using Android. These steps adjust your privacy and security settings to Relaxed level protection.
Change settings
Privacy level
Choose
Platform
Choose
What are we setting up here?
Choose
ApplyCancel

How to protect yourself against hacking

open all
Set a strong password

What for: So you do not get hacked.

If you are using a short and simple password, cybercriminals can guess it and steal your account. A long and complex password is more secure. Use a strong password that:

  • Is at least 8 characters long,
  • Contains lowercase and uppercase letters, numbers, and special characters ($, @, etc.),
  • Is not an actual word or easy-to-guess phrase,
  • Is not the same as your passwords for any other accounts,
  • Does not consist of information that strangers could easily find out (your name, date of birth, pet's name, and so forth — or those of your friends or relatives).

To change your LinkedIn password:

  1. Tap your profile picture in the top menu and select Settings;
  2. Go to the ACCOUNT section and tap Change password;
  3. Enter your current password;
  4. Enter a new strong password (twice);
  5. Tick the Require all devices to sign in with new password check box;
  6. Tap Save.

Enable two-step verification

What for: Stronger protection against hacking.

Enhance the security of your account with two-step verification. Then, every time you try to sign in to your LinkedIn account, you will have to provide a one-time code that you receive by text message or through an authentication app. That way, even if cybercriminals find out your login and password, they will not be able to use your account.

To enable two-step verification by text message:

  1. Tap your profile picture in the top menu and select Settings;
  2. Go to the ACCOUNT section;
  3. Tap Two-step verification;
  4. Tap ON next to Two-step verification is turned off (if you never turned on two-step verification, tap Set up);
  5. In the Choose your verification method drop-down list, select Phone Number (SMS) and tap Continue;
  6. Enter your phone number if you have not done so already, then enter your LinkedIn account password and tap Send code;
  7. In the corresponding box on the page, enter the verification code you receive and click Verify.

To receive verification codes through an authenticator app:

  1. Tap your profile picture in the top menu and select Settings from the drop-down list;
  2. In the window that opens, go to the ACCOUNT section and select Two-step verification;
  3. Make sure that two-step verification is turned on;
  4. Tap Change verification method. In the Choose your verification method drop-down list, select Authenticator App and tap Continue;
  5. Enter your LinkedIn account password and tap Submit;
  6. Add your LinkedIn account to the app by using the QR code or the secret key provided on the screen;
  7. Get the 6-digit verification code in the authenticator app and enter it in the corresponding box;
  8. Tap Verify.



How to configure notifications

open all
Disable unwanted notifications

What for: To avoid distractions and focus on what is important.

Notifications about private messages, comments and other activity in LinkedIn may appear as pop-up messages or arrive by e-mail. Frequent notifications can be annoying, and getting a large number of them increases the chances that you will miss something important.

To disable excessive notifications:

  1. Tap your profile picture in the top menu and select Settings;
  2. Go to the COMMUNICATIONS section;
  3. Under Notifications by channel, go through the On LinkedIn, Email, and Push sections and turn off the notifications you do not want to receive.

Rock-solid online protectionSafe and private browsing with Kaspersky Secure Connection

How to make LinkedIn more convenient

open all
Block unwanted users

What for: To avoid communicating with unpleasant people.

To block a user from viewing your profile, commenting on your posts, or sending you messages, add them to your blacklist:

  1. Go to the profile of the user you want to block;
  2. Tap in the profile header;
  3. Select Report or block;
  4. Tap Block User;
  5. Tap Block.

The blocked user will not know you added them to your blacklist.


What would have happened if you had chosen another privacy level?

Privacy level
?

Relaxed

Basic privacy settings, maximum convenience.


Medium

A golden mean respecting privacy matters but preserving convenience.


Tight

A choice of security over convenience; instructions contain a lot of details.

Relaxed
Medium
Tight
Platform
Windows
Mac
iPhone
Android
What are we setting up here?
VK
Instagram
WhatsApp
TikTok
Facebook
Google
Skype
LinkedIn
Twitter
Youtube
Android
Apply