VK for iPhone users: Relaxed privacy set

How to keep your account from getting hacked

Set a strong password

What for: So you don’t get hacked.

If you use a short and simple password for your VK account, cybercriminals can hijack your account. Use a strong password that meets the following criteria:

  • Consists of 8–20 characters.
  • Contains lowercase and uppercase letters, numbers, and special characters ($, @, etc.).
  • Is not an actual word or easy-to-guess phrase.
  • Is not the same as your passwords for any other accounts.
  • Does not consist of information that strangers could easily find out (your name, date of birth, pet's name, etc., or those of your relatives and friends).

To change the password:

  1. Open the menu by tapping the icon with three horizontal lines in the bottom right corner of the screen.
  2. Tap the cogwheel in the upper right corner of the screen to go to settings.
  3. Go to the Account section.
  4. Select Password.
  5. Enter the current password for your account, then enter the new password twice and tap OK.

Enable two-factor authentication

What for: Better protection against getting hacked.

To enable two-factor authentication, follow the instructions to configure the Web version of VK. This feature is unavailable in the iOS app.

How to hide from Big Brother

Disable access to location data

What for: So VK cannot track where you are.

VK gathers your location data to geotag your posts and stories and configure recommendations and targeted ads. Transmission of such data compromises your privacy, increases traffic usage, and drains the battery.

If you do not want to share your location, you can stop the social network from accessing location data.

To do so:

  1. Open the menu by tapping the icon with three horizontal lines in the bottom right corner of the screen.
  2. Tap the cogwheel in the upper right corner of the screen to go to settings.
  3. Go to the General section.
  4. Select Location.
  5. Tap Location and select Never.

How to defeat spammers and trolls

Block unwanted users

What for: To keep unpleasant people out of your virtual space.

To stop a specific user from viewing your wall, replying to your comments, or sending you private messages, you can blacklist the user. To do so:

  1. Go to the profile of the user you wish to block.
  2. Tap the three-dot button in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Select Block.

The user will not be notified. However, if the user tries to message or call you, they will see a message that you have blacklisted them.

To remove a user from the blacklist:

  1. Open the menu by tapping the icon with three horizontal lines in the bottom right corner of the screen.
  2. Tap the cogwheel in the upper right corner of the screen to go to settings.
  3. Go to the Blocked section.
  4. In the list find the profile of the relevant user and tap their name or profile photo.
  5. Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  6. Select Unblock.

How to keep your personal data private

Configure the visibility of your data

What for: To decide for yourself who can see what.

If you do not want to make your profile private, you can still configure the visibility of your publications, comments, audio files, photos, and other data.

To choose who can view specific information in your profile:

  1. Open the menu by tapping the icon with three horizontal lines in the bottom right corner of the screen.
  2. Tap the cogwheel in the upper right corner of the screen to go to settings.
  3. Go to the Privacy section. You will see a list of possible access settings:
  4. Who can view the main information on my profile
  5. Who can view photos of me
  6. Who can view the Saved photos album
  7. Who can view my list of groups
  8. Who can view my music
  9. Who can view my gifts
  10. Who can see my photo’s location tags
  11. Who can view my hidden friends
  12. Who can view other users’ posts and comments on my wall
  13. Who can view comments on my posts
  14. Who can view my stories
  15. Who can reply to my stories
  16. Who can give feedback on my stories
  17. Tap the items in the list one at a time and choose a group of users for each item. All or some of the following options are available for various items:
  18. All users
  19. Friends of friends
  20. All friends
  21. Certain friends
  22. Only me
  23. Some items contain the Forbidden section. In this section, you can select Add friends and lists and check friends or groups of friends who will not have access to content. For example, you can grant access to other people’s posts on your wall to all friends except those on the “Colleagues” list.

The number of available visibility options depends on whether your profile is public or private.

How to get rid of unwanted notifications

Turn off unnecessary notifications

What for: To decide for yourself what you want to be distracted by.

By default, VK displays push notifications about different profile activities – from private messages to likes and game invitations.

The list of notifications can be limited. To do so:

  1. Open the menu by tapping the icon with three horizontal lines in the bottom right corner of the screen.
  2. Tap the cogwheel in the upper right corner of the screen to go to settings.
  3. Go to the Notifications section.
  4. Select the type of event.
  5. Select None in the Show notifications section if you do not want to see notifications about this activity.