Chrome privacy settings on iPhone: Medium level

Learn how to change your privacy settings on Chrome using iPhone. These steps adjust your privacy and security settings to Medium level protection.
Kaspersky Lab
07.12.2021
6 minutes
Change settings
Privacy level
Choose
Platform
Choose
What are we setting up here?
Choose
ApplyCancel

Check your Google account settings

open all


Protect your Google account

If you use Chrome with a Google account, the safety of your data in the browser depends directly on your account’s security. Therefore, check your Google account settings in addition to your browser settings.


How to protect yourself from malicious websites and programs

open all


Use incognito mode

What for: To leave no tracks.

The browser usually saves information about the pages you visit, the passwords you enter, the permissions you give, and some website data. If you want to hide these — for example, when using someone else's phone — browse in incognito mode. While in this mode, Chrome will delete all passwords, browser history, and site data immediately after you close all program windows launched in incognito mode.

To turn on incognito mode:

  1. Tap the three dots in the lower right corner of the screen;
  2. Select New Incognito tab.

Rock-solid online protectionSafe and private browsing with Kaspersky Secure Connection

How to keep corporations out of your business

open all


Disable account syncing

What for: To stop Google from storing information about your Internet activity on its servers.

Chrome allows you to sync your browsing history, passwords, and other account data across all devices signed in to your Google account. For example, when you bookmark a website on your smartphone, you’ll be able to find it in the bookmarks section on your PC. To enable this, Google saves your personal information on its servers, including the pages you visit, the tabs you have open, URLs, and other information. If you don’t want to share your information, you can disable syncing.

To turn off syncing in your current browser:

  1. Tap the three dots in the lower right corner of the screen;
  2. Select Settings;
  3. Go to the Sync and Google services section;
  4. Disable Sync your Chrome Data.
  5. To delete all account data from a device (for example, if you signed in to your account on someone else’s smartphone), in Settings, tap your first and last name at the top of the screen and select Sign out and clear data from this device. In the window that opens, confirm your request.

Sync will still continue to work on other devices — for instance, if you have it enabled in Chrome on your computer.

To completely disable this feature and delete all saved data:

  1. Open the Data from Chrome sync page;
  2. Sign in to your account;
  3. Scroll down, tap Clear Data, and confirm your choice.

After this, syncing will be disabled on all devices. Google will delete your account information from its servers.

Downside: You won’t be able to access passwords, bookmarks, and other Google account data from other devices.

If you don’t want to disable syncing entirely, you can choose which data to sync:

  1. Tap the three dots in the lower right corner of the screen;
  2. Select Settings;
  3. Go to the Sync and Google services section;
  4. Tap Manage Sync;
  5. Disable Sync Everything and select the data you’d like to sync.

Disable data collection for browser performance improvement

What for: To keep information about how you use the browser away from Google.

Users can automatically send Chrome developers the URLs they visit, search queries, browser error reports, and other data. Developers claim that this helps them improve app performance and fix bugs. However, it means that data about your browsing will be stored on the company’s servers. If you don’t want to share this information, disable Google Services syncing.

  1. Tap the three dots in the lower right corner of the screen;
  2. Select Settings;
  3. Tap Sync and Google services;
  4. Disable the following:
  5. Autocomplete searches and URLs
  6. Help improve Chrome’s features and performance
  7. Make searches and browsing better.

Stop location tracking

What for: To prevent Google from knowing where you go.

The browser can access your phone’s location services to use the information for more precise searches and add choices. For example, if you want to book a table at a restaurant, the top search results will be of places near you. To enable this, Chrome transmits your location to Google servers, which puts you at risk of a data breach. To stop the browser from accessing this information:

  1. Go to your smartphone’s Settings;
  2. In the list of apps, select Chrome;
  3. Tap Location;
  4. Select Never.

Downside: Search results may be less accurate.


How to protect your data

open all


Check your saved passwords

What for: To protect against leaks.

When you sign in to a website, Chrome prompts you to save your password. This allows it to fill in your login credentials for you next time. The browser can check whether your passwords have been exposed in a data leak. How to start a scan:

  1. Tap the three dots in the lower right corner of the screen;
  2. Select Settings;
  3. Go to the Passwords section;
  4. Tap Check now in the Additional methods section.

If your passwords have been leaked, you’ll see a message about it. If so, change the vulnerable passwords to something unique and secure as soon as possible.

To get notifications if your passwords are discovered in public sources:

  1. Tap the three dots in the lower right corner of the screen;
  2. Select Settings;
  3. Go to the Sync and Google services section;
  4. Enable Warn you if passwords are exposed in a data breach.

Delete your contact details from Chrome

What for: To avoid exposing your contact information in case of a leak.

The browser can remember your address, place of work, phone number, and other contact details. These are used for autofill on websites and in apps — for instance, when planning routes in Google Maps. If you turn on sync, Google servers will store your contact information, which increases the risk of data leak. You can delete this information from Chrome:

  1. Tap the three dots in the lower right corner of the screen;
  2. Select Settings;
  3. Go to the Addresses and more section;
  4. Swipe the address you want to delete left and tap Delete.

Downside: You will have to enter your address and other contact details manually.

To disable automatic address saving:

  1. Tap the three dots in the lower right corner of the screen;
  2. Select Settings;
  3. Go to the Addresses and more section;
  4. Disable Save and fill addresses.


What would have happened if you had chosen another privacy level?


Also recommended

Main / Chrome privacy settings on iPhone: Medium level
Privacy level
?

Relaxed

Basic privacy settings, maximum convenience.


Medium

A golden mean respecting privacy matters but preserving convenience.


Tight

A choice of security over convenience; instructions contain a lot of details.

Relaxed
Medium
Tight
Platform
Windows
Mac
iPhone
Android
What are we setting up here?
Instagram
Facebook
WhatsApp
TikTok
Twitter
Youtube
Google
Skype
LinkedIn
VK
iOS
Chrome
Safari
Firefox
Edge
Apply